Category: Uncategorized

December 16, 2013 / by admin / Uncategorized / No Comments

Murray To Become The CEO Of Team Australia

The Auld Mug or America’s Cup is presented to the champion of the match races that take place between 2 sailing yachts. One yacht represents the current winners of the Auld Mug and that yacht is called the defender. On the other hand, the 2nd yacht represents those who want to challenge the current winners of the Auld Mug and that yacht is called the challenger. The sailing races are actually held between two yacht clubs.

The most recent winners of the America’s Cup are USA’s Team Oracle which represents the defending club Golden Gate Yacht Club. Just after Team Oracle won the 34th edition of America’s Cup, Team Australia became the challengers for the 35th edition of America’s Cup. The challenge was filed by Bob Oatley as a representative of Hamilton Island Yacht Club.

Recently it has been declared that Iain Murray is going to become the CEO of Team Australia. This decision has been taken keeping in mind the challenge that Hamilton Island Yacht Club has put forward against Golden Gate Yacht Club.

Bob Oatley said that Murray is the ideal choice for the CEO because he has participated in the America’s Cup for about three times. He has proven to be a beloved friend and consummate professional. The club is extremely delighted to officially announce that Murray is going to lead Team Australia in the America’s Cup challenge, added Oatley.

Iain Murray said that when he was given the offer of becoming the CEO of Team Australia, it was obvious that he was going to say yes to that offer.

In the 34th edition of America’s Cup, Murray was the Regatta Director. But in the upcoming America’s Cup, Murray is the head who has the responsibility to build a strong Australian Team and negotiate the rules and regulations of the regatta with the Oracle Team USA.

Read More

November 6, 2013 / by admin / Uncategorized / No Comments

Championship Of Champions

Championship of Champions is considered to be the most unique sailing race in USA. The participants have been qualified for this event only if they have won the World, National or North American championships of 2012 or 2013. All the teams will confront each other to win the Jack Brown Trophy at this year’s Championship of Champions which is being organized by Columbia Sailing Club from 25th October, 2013 to 27th October, 2013.

The most decorated sailor participating in the 2013 Championship of Champion is Betsy Alison- the guest competitor. Alison has won many championships in the past. For instance she has been the US Women’s National Champion and US Women’s Singlehanded National Champion thrice respectively. Alison has also been honored 5 times as Rolex Yachtswoman of the year. Her crew at the Championship of Champions is going to include Laura Jeffers and Will Jeffers.

David Starck winner of the 2010 Lightning North American Championship and 2013 Lightning World Championship is also going to participate in the Championship of Champions 2013 accompanied with crew members Jody Starck and Ian Jones.

Another strong contender at this year’s race is Jody Lutz who has been the 2012 Lighting North American Champion and a previous world champion. Lutz’s team is going to include Derek Gauger and Jay Lutz.

The present Etchells Worlds and National Champion, Marvin Beckmann is also going to be a part of the 2013 Championship of Champions along with crew members Stuart McNay and Meredith Killion, who are both highly accomplished champions.

Brian Keane- the J/80 North American Champion will sail with Victor Diaz De Leon and Steve Hunt.

Skip Dieball-the winner of 2009 Championship of champions is going to make a comeback with Abby Freeman and Tom Starck, this year.

Darrell Peck is also participating in the event with crew members Lori Gibson and Lois Parshley.

Read More

Like Us On Facebook